View pictures
Theatre

FRICTION

A playground of biographies

Toneelhuis, Kunstenwerkplaats, Sophia Rodriguez

FRICTION is a show that starts from the hypothesis that friction between people is disappearing. We associate friction with resistance, delay and conflict. In a capitalist environment we prefer a smooth-running situation. But we pay a price for that smoothness, for it creates distance and therefore coldness between people.
Choreographer / theatre maker Sophia Rodriguez investigates whether intentionally provoking friction between people is a way of freeing them of psychological and cultural differences, which often get in the way of communicating with others. She herself refers to it as hyper soap-opera therapy.

The performers meet each other in an imaginary playground in a park, a chill-out zone where individuals with varying intentions confront each other, play and often literally stumble over one another. Away from the smoothness, they throw themselves into the clash of opposing forces. At night, the playground reveals people with hidden fears, utopian resistance and unfulfilled desires.

In FRICTION, individual convictions and identities rub against each other as if they were pieces of dry wood. This inflammable situation is presented as an essential part of transformation: fiery, playful, and inescapable.

“Somehow, FRICTIONmanages to employ pleasure, irony and complete earnest at the same time.”

Dagmar Teurelincx in Etcetera , 27 November 2023

"FRICTION raises some deeply aesthetical, political and moral questions, that are reminiscent of contemporary thinkers like Claire Bishop and Chantal Mouffe. How and to what extent can we allow friction, in society and in the arts? Does friction inevitably lead to fire and thus, irreparable damage? It is commendable that Rodriguez dares to tackle these themes today. "

Dagmar Teurelincx in Etcetera , 27 November 2023

concept

  • Sophia Rodriguez

text

  • samen met de performers tot stand gekomen

performers and creators

  • Martina Calvo
  • Vincent Focquet
  • Anna Franziska Jäger
  • Sophia Rodriguez
  • Robert Steijn
  • Simon Van Schuylenbergh

dramaturgy

  • Robert Steijn

outside eye

  • Meg Stuart
  • Louise Van den Eede

costume design and props

  • Sofie Durnez

scenography

  • Sofie Durnez
  • Sophia Rodriguez

animation

  • Martina Calvo

music

  • Gäsper Piano

voice

  • Kalé Rodriguez Goldberg
  • Simone Rodriguez Goldberg
  • Audra Runnels
  • Azul Belmar
  • Violeta Belmar

sound design

  • Korneel Moreaux

light design

  • Jan Maertens

Pole advice

  • Majo Cázares

production

  • Kunstenwerkplaats

coproduction

  • Toneelhuis
  • Kunstencentrum BUDA
  • VierNulVier

with the support of

  • De Grote Post
  • Kaaitheater
  • Next Festival

with financial support of

  • Tax Shelter maatregel v/d Belgische Federale Overheid
  • Look@Leo
  • de Vlaamse Gemeenschap
  • De Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie

All data

Er zijn geen aankomende activiteiten voor dit event.

  1. Friday 11 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  2. Saturday 12 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  3. Monday 14 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  4. Tuesday 15 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  5. Wednesday 16 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  6. Thursday 17 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  7. Friday 18 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  8. Monday 16 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  9. Tuesday 17 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  10. Wednesday 18 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  11. Thursday 19 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  12. Friday 20 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  13. Monday 23 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  14. Tuesday 24 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  15. Wednesday 25 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  16. Thursday 26 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  17. Friday 27 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  18. Monday 30 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  19. Tuesday 31 October 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  20. Tuesday 31 October 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  21. Wednesday 1 November 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  22. Thursday 2 November 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  23. Friday 3 November 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  24. Monday 6 November 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  25. Tuesday 7 November 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  26. Wednesday 8 November 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  27. Thursday 9 November 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  28. Thursday 9 November 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  29. Friday 10 November 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  30. Friday 10 November 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  31. Saturday 11 November 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  32. Saturday 11 November 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  33. Monday 13 November 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  34. Monday 13 November 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  35. Tuesday 14 November 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  36. Tuesday 14 November 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  37. Wednesday 15 November 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  38. Wednesday 15 November 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  39. Thursday 16 November 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  40. Friday 17 November 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  41. Monday 27 November 2023 — 20h15 — NEXT Festival - kunstencentrum BUDA, Kortrijk
  42. Tuesday 28 November 2023 — 20h15 — NEXT Festival - kunstencentrum BUDA, Kortrijk
  43. Thursday 7 December 2023 — 20h00 — VIERNULVIER/Domzaal, Gent
  44. Friday 8 December 2023 — 20h00 — VIERNULVIER/Domzaal, Gent
  45. Friday 16 February 2024 — 20h30 — Charleroi Danse - La Raffinerie, Sint-Jans-Molenbeek
  46. Saturday 17 February 2024 — 20h30 — Charleroi Danse - La Raffinerie, Sint-Jans-Molenbeek

Ook interessante producties