View pictures
Theatre

Alle schone dingen (Every Brilliant Thing)

Toneelhuis, Olympique Dramatique, Tom Dewispelaere

You’re seven years old. 
Mum’s in hospital. 
Dad says she’s ‘done something stupid’.
She finds it hard to be happy. 


Alle schone dingen is the story of a boy who, in order to give renewed hope to his depressed and suicidal mother, makes a list of everything that’s brilliant about the world. Everything that’s worth living for. 

1. Dame blanche 
2. Kung Fu films 
3. Staying up late and being allowed to watch TV
4. The colour yellow

Every day, he puts a note under her pillow with something that’s brilliant written on it. "And I know she reads them because they always come back corrected." 

Despite the heavy theme, Alle schone dingen is first and foremost a witty, moving and comforting tale in an intimate setting. An actor, a few props and a couple of delightful jazz numbers – nothing else.

In recent years, the monologue Every Brilliant Thing by British playwright Duncan Macmillan has captured the hearts of audiences and critics around the world and it is now playing in Flanders for the first time. Tom Dewispelaere steps into the shoes of the narrator and takes the audience with him on a search for what makes life worth living. 

A heart-warming story for these troubled times.  
A little present for those willing to help unwrap it. 

 

Anyone with questions about suicide can contact the Suicide Line anonymously via the toll-free number 1813 or on the website.

Dewispelaere finds poetry in his manner of engaging with the audience. Their half-scripted interventions result in disarming moments.

"Dewispelaere’s performance touches the heart and leaves a warm fire burning there."

Astrid Soetewey in Etcetera , 11 September 2023

"Rather than playing the fraught emotional card, Alle schone dingen above all aims to provide a warm, comforting bath. This production succeeds convincingly in that. The humour smooths off the sharpest edges, to deliver an ode to life. There’s always hope, is the optimistic message, even when things are difficult. Or as the line in the script goes: “If you live a long life and get to the end of it without ever once having felt crushingly depressed, then you probably haven't been paying attention.""

Nina Dillen in De Tijd , 9 September 2023

"Tom Dewispelaere wields this profoundly human uncertainly as a weapon against loneliness and suicidal depression."

Lotte Ogiers in Pzazz , 8 September 2023

text

  • Duncan Macmillan, met extra materiaal van Jonny Donahoe

translation

  • Sanne Parlevliet

performance

  • Tom Dewispelaere

coaching

  • Katelijne Damen

light design

  • Frank Hardy

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Olympique Dramatique

All data

  1. Friday 23 February 2024 — 20h00 — de Gam, Rumst
    Sold out
  2. Saturday 24 February 2024 — 20h00 — CC De Spil, Roeselare
    Sold out
  3. Wednesday 28 February 2024 — 20h15 — GC 't Blikveld, Bonheiden
  4. Wednesday 15 May 2024 — 20h00 — Theater Malpertuis, Tielt
    Sold out
  5. Saturday 18 May 2024 — 20h00 — CC De Werf, Aalst
    Sold out
  6. Wednesday 22 May 2024 — 20h00 — Paterskerk, Sint-Niklaas
  7. Thursday 23 May 2024 — 20h00 — Paterskerk, Sint-Niklaas
  8. Friday 24 May 2024 — 20h15 — CC De Steiger, Menen
  9. Monday 5 August 2024 — 22h00 — Nog te bepalen, Antwerpen
  10. Tuesday 6 August 2024 — 22h00 — Nog te bepalen, Antwerpen
  11. Wednesday 7 August 2024 — 22h00 — Nog te bepalen, Antwerpen
  12. Thursday 8 August 2024 — 22h00 — Nog te bepalen, Antwerpen
  13. Friday 9 August 2024 — 22h00 — Nog te bepalen, Antwerpen
  14. Wednesday 12 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC/LUX, Kapellen
  15. Thursday 13 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC Diest, Diest
  16. Friday 14 March 2025 — 20h00 — Cultuurhuis, Merelbeke
  17. Sunday 16 March 2025 — 15h00 — CC Belgica, Dendermonde
  18. Wednesday 19 March 2025 — 20h00 — Schouwburg Noord, Merksem
  19. Thursday 20 March 2025 — 20h00 — Cultuurcentrum De Kern, Wilrijk
  20. Friday 21 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC De Herbakker, Eeklo
  21. Saturday 22 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC Scharpoord, Knokke-Heist
  22. Wednesday 26 March 2025 — 20h00 — Nog te bepalen, Antwerpen
  23. Thursday 27 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC De Werft, Geel
  24. Friday 28 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC Ter Vesten, Beveren
  25. Saturday 29 March 2025 — 20h00 — CC De Ploter, Ternat
  26. Tuesday 1 April 2025 — 20h00 — CCHA, Hasselt
  27. Wednesday 2 April 2025 — 20h00 — Corso Berchem, Berchem
  28. Thursday 3 April 2025 — 20h00 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  1. Wednesday 24 May 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  2. Thursday 25 May 2023 — 10h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  3. Friday 26 May 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  4. Tuesday 30 May 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  5. Wednesday 31 May 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  6. Thursday 1 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  7. Friday 2 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  8. Monday 5 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  9. Tuesday 6 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  10. Wednesday 7 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  11. Thursday 8 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  12. Thursday 8 June 2023 — 14h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  13. Friday 9 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  14. Friday 9 June 2023 — 14h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  15. Monday 12 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  16. Tuesday 13 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  17. Wednesday 14 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  18. Wednesday 14 June 2023 — 14h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  19. Thursday 15 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  20. Friday 16 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  21. Friday 16 June 2023 — 14h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  22. Monday 19 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  23. Tuesday 20 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  24. Wednesday 21 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  25. Thursday 22 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  26. Thursday 22 June 2023 — 14h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  27. Friday 23 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  28. Friday 23 June 2023 — 14h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  29. Monday 26 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  30. Monday 26 June 2023 — 19h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  31. Tuesday 27 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  32. Tuesday 27 June 2023 — 19h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  33. Wednesday 28 June 2023 — 9h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  34. Wednesday 28 June 2023 — 19h00 — Bourlazolder, Antwerpen
  35. Friday 25 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  36. Monday 28 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  37. Tuesday 29 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  38. Wednesday 30 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  39. Thursday 31 August 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  40. Friday 1 September 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  41. Friday 1 September 2023 — 19h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  42. Monday 4 September 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  43. Monday 4 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  44. Tuesday 5 September 2023 — 9h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  45. Tuesday 5 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  46. Wednesday 6 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  47. Thursday 7 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  48. Friday 8 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  49. Wednesday 13 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  50. Thursday 14 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  51. Friday 15 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  52. Saturday 16 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  53. Sunday 17 September 2023 — 15h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  54. Tuesday 19 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  55. Wednesday 20 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  56. Thursday 21 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  57. Tuesday 3 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  58. Wednesday 4 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  59. Thursday 5 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  60. Friday 6 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  61. Saturday 7 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  62. Saturday 7 October 2023 — 22h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  63. Wednesday 11 October 2023 — 20h00 — Koningshofkerk, Schoten
  64. Wednesday 18 October 2023 — 20h00 — GC De Wildeman, Herent
  65. Wednesday 25 October 2023 — 20h00 — CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot
  66. Thursday 26 October 2023 — 20h00 — CC De Steenoven, Herzele
  67. Thursday 2 November 2023 — 20h15 — Jezuïetenkerk, Lier
  68. Tuesday 14 November 2023 — 20h15 — C-mine/Grote zaal, Genk
  69. Monday 20 November 2023 — 20h15 — Schouwburg, Turnhout
  70. Tuesday 21 November 2023 — 20h00 — Schouwburg, Turnhout
  71. Wednesday 22 November 2023 — 20h15 — Schouwburg, Turnhout
  72. Wednesday 10 January 2024 — 20h30 — Cultuurcentrum, Strombeek-Bever
  73. Thursday 11 January 2024 — 20h30 — Cultuurcentrum, Strombeek-Bever
  74. Thursday 18 January 2024 — 20h15 — CC De Kimpel, Bilzen
  75. Thursday 25 January 2024 — 20h30 — CC Zwaneberg, Heist-Op-Den-Berg
  76. Tuesday 30 January 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  77. Wednesday 31 January 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  78. Thursday 1 February 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  79. Friday 2 February 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  80. Saturday 3 February 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  81. Saturday 10 February 2024 — 20h15 — CC Lokeren, Lokeren
  82. Friday 16 February 2024 — 20h00 — CC Ter Dilft, Bornem
  83. Saturday 17 February 2024 — 20h00 — Theater Vooruit, Boechout

Ook interessante producties

Honderd Theatre 4 March 2024 t/m 19 December 2024

Honderd

Toneelhuis / Martha!tentatief / Bart Van Nuffelen / Ruud Gielens